top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Childish Gambino makes a surprising return with new album, "3.15.20"

After many fans thought that Gambino was done with music, (and yes, this includes me) he has made a return with his newest album, "3.15.20". This album is very different from his previous albums. This one has more of a funky vibe to it. Usuaully, I wouldn't really be into that kind of thing, but Gambino pulls it off alright. I personally prefer his rap style songs to these. "3.15.20" is 12 songs long and clocks in at 57 minutes long. There are many longer songs on this album, but they don't seem too dragged out.


The best song by far on this album is "Algorhythm". The intro starts off quiet and quickly picks up with a slightly electronic sound. Then comes the produced vocals, which add a lot to the song. They come in and out throughout the song. Eventually, Gambino's amazing vocals kick in. He sounds absolutely flawless here. This song is such a dance-able track, and I instantly found myself hooked to it.


My least favorite on this album by far is "32.22". It doesn't seem like much of a song to me.

It's just a bunch of random vocals that sound like screaming and other random noises. It's more annoying than anything.


Speaking of annoying, another song on this album that I wasn't particularly fond of is "35.31". This seems like more of a pop song, which isn't something Gambino dabbles in. This song is so sing-songy, and the only decent part of this song is when it slows down during one of the last choruses and there's melodies over said chorus. Other than that, this song makes me want to slam my head against a concrete wall.


Out of five stars, I'm going to give "3.15.20" three stars. After waiting so long for Gambino to make a comeback, this album was very disappointing. It's not bad by any means, but I do personally think this is his worst album. I'm just thankful that he's back making music again and that I possibly have a chance to see him in concert before he focuses on his acting career fully.




44 views0 comments
bottom of page