top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Harry Styles' shocks fans worldwide with his new album "Fine Line"

Ever since the release of "Lights Up," I've been anticipating this album. Styles' first album absolutely blew me away, so I had very high expectations for his secondary release. Just like always, Styles didn't disappoint.


There were three singles released for this album: "Lights Up," "Watermelon Sugar," and "Adore You." Every single one of these singles are amazing. "Lights Up" is a more vulnerable song and talks about being true to who you are. Fans have theories of what "Watermelon Sugar" is about, but I won't ruin it for you. Just know that this is a song that even a non-Harry Styles fan could vibe with. Then we've got "Adore You," which is the latest single off "Fine Line." Just like "Lights Up," this song came with a music video. The music video for 'Adore You" is interesting to say the least. It takes place in the fictional island of Eroda, where Styles raises a fish until he eventually releases it. Either way, this song is absolutely beautiful and is one of the better singles in my opinion.


"Fine Line" comes in at 12 songs in length, and is nearly 47 minutes long. Styles blessed us with a few longer songs on this album, and for that, I'm extremely thankful. During my first listen through the album at 12am this morning, three songs initially caught my interest. First, we have the sixth track, "Falling." This song is so beautiful that at first listen, it made me cry. Styles' vocals sound amazing in this song, and I would definitely recommend this song to anyone. Next we have "She," which is one of the longer songs on the album. Clocking in at over six minutes long, this song is an absolute powerhouse. Styles' vocals during the chorus caught me by surprise during my first listen. I always knew he was talented, but this isn't the kind of thing I'd expect from him, and I mean that in the best way possible. Then we get the amazing guitar solo at the end of the song that really just sealed the deal for me. Finally, we've got the title track, "Fine Line." This is another longer song, come to think of it, all my favorite songs on this album seem to be longer than usual. This song is a hefty six minutes and 18 seconds long, and every second of it leaves me breathless. This is another song on this album that really shows off Styles' vocal abilities. I know I've used the word "beautiful" multiple times, but that's the first word that comes to mind when I think of this song.


Next, let's talk about my least favorites on the album. I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting to dislike any songs on this album, but there are two that I don't like as much as the others. First, there's "To Be So Lonely." The guitar in this song really throws me off and I feel like it's not Styles' best work. The only other song that I don't like on "Fine Line" is "Canyon Moon." And I'll be honest, this is the first song of Harry's that I've absolutely hated. I can't stand to listen to it. It's just got this country feel to it, and as someone that was forced to listen to country music for most of her life, (thanks, West Virginia!) I just can't get into it. Harry stans, please don't come for me. I promise, I love every other song on this album.


If I had to rate this album, I'd give it somewhere in between 3.5 and 4 stars. I'd probably go closer to 4 stars, though. While there are two songs on this album that I'm not particularly fond of, I can get past them, since the good outweighs the bad.



63 views0 comments
bottom of page