top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Heathers the musical is dangerously good

While I’m not as big of a musical fan as other people, there are a few musicals that stand out to me. One of them is the infamous “Heathers,” which is based off of the movie from the 80s. This musical is so different from anything else I have seen, and I think that’s what I like most about it, aside from the amazing music, of course.


I have many favorite songs from Heathers, but if I had to pick one, it would probably be “Dead Girl Walking.” When I first watched this musical, I wasn’t expecting this song at all. It kind of came out of nowhere, but in the best way. Barrett Wilbert Weed, the woman who portrays Veronica, does an amazing job in this song. This performance really shows off her vocal range and how varied it is.


Another great song from this musical is “Candy Store.” It is very catchy and I easily find myself singing along to it whenever I listen to it. This song is performed by the Heathers, this song is kind of a humorous one with the strong language that pops out of nowhere.

“Seventeen” is more of an emotional song, but it is very beautiful. The actors that portray J.D. and Veronica did a superb job on this song. It truly shows how much the characters care about each other, despite the circumstances.


There truly isn’t a bad song on the entire Heathers soundtrack. Some are better than others, however, I don’t really believe any of them are particularly bad. I would do just about anything to see this musical in person, even if it wasn’t on Broadway. I would be happy to see some of the

Hilltoppers put on an adaption of this show. (I’m looking at you, theater WLU department. Make it happen.)


This is easily one of my favorite musicals, and thanks to the exposure I got to it, I plan on watching more musicals. I’ve got a long way to go, but I believe that in time, I will be educated on at least the most popular musicals around.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page