top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Highwind Interview

After trying for years to get my first interview, we're finally here! Chris Russo from New Jersey band Highwind was nice enough to let me interview him. Highwind is an alternative band and just released their first ep , "How've You Been?". If you like bands like As It Is, Yellowcard, or The Dangerous Summer, you'll probably like Highwind. Now let's get into the interview! (S- me C-Chris)


S- Your latest release, "How've You Been?" just released. What is your favorite song from this project and why?

C- My favorite song is either "afterlife" or "Synchronicity". "Afterlife" is a really personal song, and "Synchroncitiy" is a song I'm really proud of. I wrote it in my friend's basement, and when I listened to the finally product, I was like, "Woah, this doesn't seem like a song I even wrote!"


S- The last song on the album is "Afterlife (How've You Been?)". Tell me a little about the inspiration behind this song.

C- It's about my friend Adam that passed away about two years ago. It's full of references of things he loved. Writing this song really helped me get through a lot of my depression of losing him. It was my way of getting things off my chest after he passed.


S- Are you guys planning to go on tour soon?

C- Right now, we are going to be doing a few shows with Shallow Pools. We also have a show coming up in Philly with Moment to Capitalize.


S- Going off the last question, if you could tour with any band, past or present, who would it be and why?

C- As of right now, Selfish Things is a huge inspiration of mine. Other bands would include Boston Manor and Movements. I have friends in a band named Sun Title that I'd love to tour with. Obviously, I'd love to tour with As It Is again.


S- What can we look forward to from Highwind in the future?

C- As of right now, I'm thinking of releasing some songs that didn't make it onto "How've You Been?" We're also working on merch, and I might be doing some YouTube covers really soon.


S- Where can we listen to Highwind/keep up with updates from the band?

C- All the music is everywhere you can listen to music: Spotify, iTunes, YouTube, etc. We have Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook. I want to use YouTube more for vlogs and covers, so look out for that soon!


Instgram: HighwindNJ Facebook: Highwind


S- Thanks so much for answering all of these questions, I really appreciate it! I wish you the best of luck with Highwind. You guys are going to do great!

C- Thank you for having me! I appreciate you helping me get our name out there!


Once again, I'd like to give a huge shout out to Chris Russo for allowing me to interview him. I definitely recommend everyone go check out Highwind's new ep, "How've You Been?". There isn't a single song on this project that I don't like. Go give these guys a listen and a follow, and if they have any upcoming shows near you, go out and support them!

40 views0 comments
bottom of page