top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

I Don't Know How But They Found Me releases jaw-dropping debut EP

While they are slightly newer to the scene, I Don't Know How But They Found Me (aka idkhow) have experience from being in bands beforehand. Dallon Weekes, the lead singer, was the bassist in Panic! At the Disco and also led The Brobecks. Drummer Ryan Seaman is a former member of Falling in Reverse.


On November 9th, the duo put out their debut ep: 1981 Extended Play. This band does something very unique and acts as if they were a band in the 80's and are just getting discovered through recordings and tapes. The ep is made up of six songs and is roughly 16 minutes long.


The ep starts off with a song that introduces the band and the ep as a whole. I think it's really cool that idkhow included this, it gives me kind of a "The 1975" feel. Now I'm going to bw 100% honest here: I don't hate or even dislike a single one of these songs. I do have a favorite, however.


My favorite song on this ep is probably "Absinthe." This song really showcase's Weekes' vocal abilities. Those backing vocals are also absolutely beautiful. The bass and the drums in this song are definitely something to pay tribute to, as well.


Like I said earlier, I do not dislike a single song on this ep. In fact, I would gladly listen to this whole ep without skipping a single song. However, "Social Climb" did fall a little bit short for me. I don't know why, but it is still a great song, it just isn't my favorite song on this project.


With all that being said, I'm going to give this ep a 4.5/5 stars. This project absolutely blew all of my expectations out of the water. I can't wait to hear these songs live when I see idkhow open up for Waterparks on their fall tour. I would definitely recommend you give this ep a listen.


22 views0 comments
bottom of page