top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

My Favorite Colored Vinyl That I Own

A few years ago, I got my first record player as a gift from my mom for Christmas. I was absolutely ecstatic, since I had wanted to start collecting vinyl for a while before that. While I originally started with a Crosley, (gross, I know) I have since upgraded to an Audio Technica. Since then, I have also accumulated about 34 different records. Most of them are special colored variants, which I particularly like collecting. Today, I will be going over some of my favorite colored vinyl that I own and why I love them so much. Of course, photos will be attatched so you, the viewer, can get a sense of how beautiful these records truly are.


Whatever, USA- Hoodie Allen

Let's start with the most recent vinyl I picked up. "Whatever, USA" is the latest album by New York based rapper, Hoodie Allen. This vinyl looks exactly like you think it would. It's a red, white, and blue split and is nothing like I've ever seen on a colored record before. I absolutely adore the way it looks.




Pray for the Wicked- Panic! At the Disco

Next up, we have the latest release from Panic! At the Disco, "Pray for the Wicked." The second this vinyl went on Panic's merch store, I made sure to pre-order it, and I wasn't disappointed when it finally came in the mail months later. The record has a marbled look to it, and I love anything marble. It just looks so elegant and clean, and I love it.




Overexposed- Sleep On It

Next we have my favorite album by pop punk band, Sleep On It. "Overexposed" is the album that got me into Sleep On It, and I still love this album with all my heart. This record is blue with white lines throughout it. It's gorgeous and I was at a loss of words when I first got it in the mail.




Double Dare- Waterparks

The next colored record is kind of a weird one. When it came in the mail, I was initially confused because it didn't look the way it did online. However, over time, I grew to love it. It doesn't skip or have any other issues, so I decided to keep it. The best way I can describe it is a mix between clear and dark pink. It's an interesting combo to say the least, and it's one of the most unique records in my collection.




Entertainment- Waterparks

Oh wow, another Waterparks album! Let's just be honest though, Parx puts out amazing vinyl variants. If I had the money, I'd try to collect all of them. This one looks exactly how it did online, so thank the music gods for that. This record is clear with purple splatter, along with a pink blob thing in the middle of the record itself. This perfectly fits the aesthetic of "Entertainment", and I love it so much.




The Home Inside My Head- Real Friends

The last two records are both by Chicago based pop punk band, Real Friends. The first record we're going to talk about is "The Home Inside My Head." This is the first record by Real Friends that I picked up, and while I love Real Friends, I mainly got it because the vinyl is so cool looking. It's a smoky clear (almost grey) with black smoky lines throughout. It's probably one of the coolest records I own.







Maybe This Place is the Same and We're Just Changing- Real Friends

Well, I saved the best for last. While these records were in no particular order, this is definitely my favorite colored vinyl that I own. Just like Waterparks, Real Friends have some of the best vinyl variants in the game. This one is probably their best though. This record is a deep purple color and has white, blue, and lighter purple lines coming from the middle of the vinyl. This record is absolutely stunning, and won't be leaving my possession anytime soon.






55 views0 comments
bottom of page