top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

My Top Songs of 2018

2018 was a very interesting year for music. Many bands that I like came out with new music or albums, yet there was still a lot of admittedly bad music out there as well. For this post, we're going to focus on some of my favorite songs of 2018. Not all of these were released in 2018, so keep that in mind as you read.


Fakin- Hoodie Allen feat. Wale

Let's start off with my top song of the year, according to Spotify. This song came as no surprise to me when I saw it on my Spotify Wrapped 2018 list. This was one of the few songs that I would constantly seek out and go out of my way to listen to. This song came out last year, but it is easily still one of my favorites by Hoodie.

TANTRUM- Waterparks

The second most popular song of the year for me (according to Spotify) is none other than my favorite song by Waterparks: TANTRUM. Have you ever had a song by an artist live and you just make yourself suffer by watching videos of said song? Yeah, TANTRUM is that song for me. While this song is a popular one for their live shows, I still haven't heard it why. This is probably because I haven't been to a headlining tour for Parx yet. The day I hear this song live is the day my life is officially complete.



Nicotine- Panic! At the Disco

Loving an underappreciated song from an underappreciated album can be really difficult at times. You don't really have anyone to talk to about how great the song or the album is. My next pick for this list (once again thanks to Spotify) is Nicotine by Panic! At the Disco. I have been fortunate enough to hear this song live multiple times (thank you Panic for keeping this gem on the setlist), and it is even better live. Like TANTRUM, I think this is a song everyone should experience live. The intro, the guitar solo, Brendon's vocals...everything about this song is just better live. 10/10 would recommend.


Cry- The Used

I went through a really rough breakup this year. I remember being extremely depressed over it for the majority of the summer. This song was kind of like my "forget him, you're a bad b*tch" song. I would play this song whenever I needed a pick me up, and it would always make me feel so much better. Not only that, but it's also just a really good song. I remember finding this song in my Discover Weekly playlist and instantly saving it. This song and I have been through a lot this year.


Pet Cheetah- Twenty One Pilots

When Twenty One Pilots released Jumpsuit and Nico and the Niners, I was extremely excited to see what they had in store for us. Trench was released a few months later, and it is such an amazing album. (Shameless plug: read my blog post on it!) But my favorite song by far on this album is Pet Cheetah. This is, once again, a song I need to eventually hear live. (Fingers crossed I see them this summer so I can) The intro to this song just gets you so pumped up, and the chanting part of the song (pet cheetah, cheetah) makes you want to scream and dance.


The Less I Know the Better- Tame Impala

I have one word to describe this song: bop. This song makes me want to scream the lyrics and dance every single time it comes on. The intro is so recognizable, and the singer's voice is one I could listen to all day long.



SLOW DANCING IN THE DARK- Joji

Joji, aka George Miller, aka Filthy Frank, is one of my favorite human beings alive. His ep, In Tongues, was so amazing, so it was only natural that I expected great things from his debut album. SLOW DANCING was a single from the album, and at first, I didn't really like it. I don't know how that's possible since I love it so much now, but it just grew on me the more I listened to it. This song and Test Drive are probably my favorites off of the album.


Modern Day Cain- I Don't Know How But They Found Me

I remember when Dallon Weekes first initially announced he was leaving Panic! At the Disco, I was very upset. Dallon was the only bassist I really knew for Panic when I first started listening to them in high school. Once I heard Modern Day Cain by his new band, however, I was hooked. This song is so dancable and has such an 80's feel, which I love. We also got a new bassist for Panic, Nicole Row, who is the first female member of the band. It's a win- win no matter how you look at it.

Coffee Talk- Broadside

This is yet another song that was in my Discover Weekly playlist on Spotify. I had never listened to Broadside before this (and honestly I still haven't, I need to get on top of that), but this song absolutely takes the cake. I was honestly very surprised this song didn't make it into my Spotify Wrapped 2018 list, because I listened to it so many times this year. It was kind of like my anthem for this year. I actually got lucky enough to hear this live (in passing) during Warped Tour this past summer, so that was a fun experience that I associate with this song.

Move- Saint Motel

I originally got introduced to this song when I saw Saint Motel open for Panic! At the Disco in the winter of 2017. One of my favorite YouTubers, Maddie Dragsbaek, also had it as her outro song for awhile. Move is such a great song and it makes you want to do just as the title says. I associate this song with great memories and even better people, so that is why this song is on this list.



125 views0 comments
bottom of page