top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Olivia Rodrigo shocks everyone with her debut album "SOUR"

On Friday, Olivia Rodrigo, the songwriter/actress that blew up on Tik Tok a few months ago thanks to her debut single "drivers license", dropped her debut album. "SOUR" is made up 11 songs and is just under 35 minutes long.


We got three singles from this record: "drivers license", "deja vu", and "good 4 u". All three tracks are amazing in their own ways: "drivers license" is about heartbreak and is the perfect sad playlist song, "deja vu" is about "seeing a former lover move on" (popjuice.co), and "good 4 u" is about getting over a breakup. My favorite of the three is definitely "good 4 u". That song is just so addicting, and I could listen to it all day.


My favorite on the album is easily "brutal", which is the opening track. This track has more of a rock vibe compared to the rest of the album. It starts the record off with a bang and really sets the stage for the other songs.


My least favorites on "SOUR" are probably "jealousy, jealousy" and "1 step forward, 3 steps back". These tracks just don't stick out as much as the others. I can see myself forgetting abut them quickly, however, that doesn't mean they aren't good songs. They just aren't really my taste.


With that being said, I'm going to give "SOUR" by Olivia Rodrigo four out of five stars. While there were two songs I didn't love at first listen, the rest of the album makes up for it. I would definitely recommend checking this record out; you can listen to it now everywhere music is available.






57 views0 comments
bottom of page