top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Panic! At the Disco releases new Broadway-inspired record and blows everyone away

As most people know, Panic! At the Disco is my favorite band. I have a good bit of merch of them, I have the "P" logo on my right arm, and chances are when I'm listening to music, I'm probably listening to them.


Back in June, Panic released their six studio album, "Pray For the Wicked." Going into it, I had high hopes (ha, get it?) and I wasn't disappointed after my first initial listen.


While I have a song or two that I don't particularly like, I can't say I dislike this album by any means. I'll admit, I think I like their last album, "Death of a Bachelor" a little bit more, but "Pray For the Wicked" is still a really fun listen.


I have two favorite songs from this album, and they are very different musically and lyrically. The first song is "The Overpass," and it gives me major spy movie vibes. It's more of a jazzy song, which to my knowledge, is something completely different for Panic. However, it is utilized in the best possible way in this track. Next up is the final song on the album, "Dying in LA." This track is more of a ballad and talks about the struggles of being in the spotlight. And let me just say: this song is even better live than you would ever imagine. This is such a beautiful song and could easily bring anyone to tears.


The only song on this whole entire album that I don't particularly like is "Old Fashioned." I'm not sure what it is about this song that I don't connect with, but for whatever reason, it just bores me. It never caught my attention as a song, both musically and lyrically.


I absolutely love this album, and the fact that Brendon incorporated his time Broadway into this record added such a unique touch to it. I would definitely recommend this album to anyone. I give this record a strong 4/5. I look forward to Panic's next album!

6 views0 comments
bottom of page