top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

TheBlackLava prepare to release new album, "As Black as My Heart"

Thanks to my good friend Emmy, I got the opportunity to review an album by a band that I'm just now hearing of. The band is called TheBlackLava, and they hail from the beautiful country of Italy. They describe their music as stoner rock with some blues influences, and I'm not going to lie, when I first read that, I was a little thrown off since it isn't usually my cup of tea. However, once I got to listening to the songs on this album, I was blown away.


Initially, I was thrown off a bit by the lead singer's voice. It's very unique and has that grunge-y tone to it. After listening more and more to the songs, however, I eventually got used to it and even started to love it. "As Black as My Heart" is a very cohesive album, and it feels like every song within it belongs there. The guitars and drums in each song are absolutely amazing as well and I just know that these songs would be amazing live.


Some songs that stood out to me were "Make Me Feel Alright," "Waiting," and "Zombie." All of these songs have such great energy, and you can tell that the band put their all into making them. I think my favorite of the three, however, is "Zombie." It's just such an upbeat song and really makes me want to dance and jump around. This song makes me feel like I can accomplish everything, and as a (very) recent college graduate, that's exactly what I need right about now.


After listening to all ten songs on this album, I can happily say that I don't dislike a single one of these songs. Some catch my attention more than others, however, if one of these songs came on shuffle on Spotify, I probably wouldn't skip it. With that being said, I'm going to give "As Black as My Heart" a strong 4.5 out of 5 stars. I was very surprised by how much I liked this album, and I look forward to hearing more from TheBlackLava in the future.


37 views0 comments
bottom of page