top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Throwback Thursday: "Cinematics" by Set It Off

"Cinematics" is the 2012 release by alternative band, Set It Off. It was also their debut album. There are 16 songs on this album, and it clocks in at a little under 55 minutes long. The record starts off with the instrumental track, "Thoughts That Breathe". While I don't listen to this song when it comes on shuffle, it is still an amazing part of this album. "Thoughts That Breathe" transitions flawlessly into "Nightmare", which is an amazing track. It's definitely one of my favorites on the record.


Next is "Swan Song", which is not only my favorite song on this album, but is also my favorite song by Set It Off altogether. I finally got to hear this song live last spring, and it was definitely worth the wait. This song just gets me so hyped, and if there's one track you listen to on this record, it should be this one.


Another favorite on this album is "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead". This track gives me major My Chemical Romance vibes, and I absolutely love it. It's got a dark feeling to it, and it really adds to the enjoyment of the song.


"I'd Rather Drown" is another great song off of "Cinematics". Just like "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead", "I'd Rather Drown" reminds me a lot of a track that My Chemical Romance would sing. From the lyrics to the sound, it is very reminicent of MCR.


The most popular song off of this record, "Partners in Crime", is absolutely amazing. It's not my favorite song on the album, however, it is still very enjoyable. Throughout Set It Off's discography, "Partners in Crime" is definitely one of their better singles. It features New Years Day's Ash Costello, and she adds a nice twist to the track.


The final song I want to mention is "Kill the Lights". When I think of "Cinematics", this is one of the tracks I think of. It starts off with a short string interlude, then goes into Cody Carson's vocals. Carson sounds immaculate here, and this song, in my opinion, deserves more love from the Set It Off fanbase.


As far as least favorites go, I don't really have any. I love every single song on this album. "Cinematics" is definitely my favorite record by Set It Off, and I think I speak for a lot of people when I say I want it in vinyl form. That being said, I'm going to give this album five out of five stars. "Cinematics" is flawless in my opinion, and I would love it if Set It Off went back to this sound.









28 views0 comments
bottom of page