top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Throwback Thursday: "Soul Punk" by Patrick Stump

Everybody knows Patrick Stump from Fall Out Boy, but did you know that during FOB's hiatus, Stump made a solo album? The album to come out of this is titled "Soul Punk". This album contains 15 songs, and clocks in at a little over an hour long.


"Soul Punk" is an album that makes me think of the good old days. Admittedly, I didn't listen to this song until the beginning of college, however, I instantly loved it. It has such a different sound from Fall Out Boy, and it's super refreshing.


My favorite song on "Soul Punk" has to be "Spotlight". It's just such an uplifting song and it's extremely catchy, as well. On the other side of things, my least favorite song on this album is definitely "Everybody Wants Somebody". This song is just way too autotuned and overproduced for my taste, and I personally think it would sound better if it sounded more natural.


Going off of that, a lot of the songs on "Soul Punk" are super autotuned and extremely overproduced. Back when I was younger, I didn't mind this, but now, as a 23 year old, this tends to bother me more. I've heard Stump perform live and I've also watched performances on YouTube from this era, and they sound absolutely beautiful. However, this song is still extremely nostalgic for me. Listening to it may be a bit more painful now since it's not exactly my taste anymore, but it still brings back so many good memories.


Because of the reasons listed above, I'm going to give "Soul Punk" by Patrick Stump a three out of five stars. I can already hear the FOB and Patrick stans coming to type hate comments. This album just doesn't really do it for me anymore. It definitely has its moments with songs like "Run Dry (X Heart X Fingers)" and "This City". However, it definitely has its low points as well, one example being "Everybody Wants Somebody". The nostalgic factor definitely brought the rank up for this album, but I still don't see myself coming back to this album super often.



22 views0 comments
bottom of page