top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Throwback Thursday: "Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die!" by Panic! At the Disco

For a while now, I have had an idea to do a "throwback Thursday" feature on my blog. It wasn't until my good friend, (and now roommate) Emmy, mentioned doing something similar that I decided to go forward with it. Today, I will be reviewing the album that got me into my favorite band, Panic! At the Disco. This album is their 2013 release, "Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die!"


"Too Weird to Live" is Panic's fourth studio album, and in my humble opinion, their most underrated album. As many of you may know, Panic changes their sound with every album. For this album, the genre is mainly dance/electronic sounding. You either love or hate this album, and I absolutely love this album. Let's go over my favorite songs on the album: my overall favorite is definitely "Nicotine". An underrated song on an underrated album. This is actually my favorite song by Panic. This is such a fun song to dance and yell along to, and it's even better live. I've been blessed enough to hear this song live three times, and I hope in the future, it still makes it onto the setlist.


Another song that instantly caught my attention at first listen was "Casual Affair". This is such a sexy song, and I remember as a young Panic fan wanting to hear this song live so extremely badly. Luckily, I got this chance back in the summer of 2018. It was definitely worth the wait.


The final song I'm going to highlight as a favorite is the closing song, "The End of All Things". Brendon wrote this song as a form of vows for his wife, Sarah. This is the only ballad on the album, and it ends off the album beautifully. This is another super underrated song, and I hope one day they add it back onto the setlist, since I still haven't gotten the chance to hear it live yet.


There is not a single bad song on this album. This is one of the few albums that I can listen to in full without skipping a single song. There's just so much nostalgia that comes with this album. It reminds me of simpler times. However, there is one Panic album that I enjoy more than this one, and for that reason, I'm giving "Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die!" 4.5 stars. If you for whatever reason haven't listened to this album, I highly recommend that you do so. I promise you won't regret it.






63 views0 comments
bottom of page