top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Top 15 Songs of 2020

It's that time of year again! With a new year approaching, it is once again time to go over my favorite songs of the year! Before we get started, just a little disclaimer: not all of these songs are going to be from this year. These are just the tracks that I loved the most in 2020. Also, for the most part, these songs are in no particular order. But with that being said, let's get into the list!


15. Dead! by My Chemical Romance

2020 was a very interesting year to say the least. I, just like a lot of other people, regressed to listening to music I listened to when I was younger. My Chemical Romance was a band I listened to a lot this past year, and "Dead!" is one of my favorite songs by them. The intro just brings me instant joy, and prepares me to scream the upcoming lyrics. This song would be amazing live (now that MCR is officially back, I can actually say this without being slaughtered) and hopefully after the pandemic ends, I can live out my little emo girl dreams and go see them in concert.




14. Hash Pipe by Weezer

Did someone say "male manipulator music"? Another band that I started listening to more during the pandemic was Weezer. While I only have a few songs saved, I have loved everything I've heard so far. "Hash Pipe" is definitely my favorite song by the band. I had the pleasure of hearing it live a few years back, and I've been hooked ever since.



13. DRUGS- lil aaron

I can already feel everyone judging me for this one. I heard "DRUGS" on my for you page on Tik Tok and instantly fell in love with it. It's catchy as hell, what can I say? Especially the bridge that repeats, "I'm only in love when I'm taking drugs". Do I endorse the message of this song? Absolutely not. Do I still love this song? Hell yeah I do.




12. Arabella by Arctic Monkeys

2014 was a peak year for many people. Tumblr was popping, the music was amazing, and most importantly, we weren't in a god damn pandemic. Around this time, I started listening to the Arctic Monkeys, more specifically, their album, "A.M.". My favorite song off this record was, and still is, "Arabella". This is such a nostalgic song for me, and it reminds me of simpler times.




11. #icanteven by The Neighbourhood feat. French Montana

Another band I was super into in 2014 was The Neighbourhood. I specfically remember listening to them and the Artic Monkeys in my art class. "#icanteven" in particular is a song I discovered this year. This track helped me get through my first week at my job, where I was literally helping set up an empty store. French Momtana's verse on this track adds a different but enjoyable element to the song. This is one of the more underrated songs by The Neighbourhood that I recommend more people listen to.




10. Welcome to the Fight by Havoc Faction

Now to add a curve ball to the list! Back in February, I reviewed an EP by a band called Havoc Faction. I stated in the article that one of my favorite songs from the project was the title track, "Welcome to the Fight". This still rings true, and I still to this day listen to this song a lot. I love this track, and I love being able to support a smaller band. If you have yet to listen to this EP, go listen to it!



9. Gimme Love by Joji

This year, Joji dropped a new album titled "Nectar". Personally, I didn't love the album. However, there were a few songs on it that stood out to me. My favorite by far, however, is "Gimme Love". I wrote a review of this track after it came out, so I'm not going to go into too much detail here, but just know that I listen to this song AT LEAST once a day. This song just makes me want to dance and belt the lyrics at the top of my lungs. It's a beautiful track, and I'm glad it got the love it deserves. (Thanks, Tik Tok!)




8. Oh My God by HELLYEAH

This is definitely the heaviest song this list. I remember finding this track in the early days of the pandemic and it being my go to hype up song. It just makes me feel like a bad bitch when I'm feeling down, and everyone deserves a song that makes them feel that way.




7. Miss YOU! by CORPSE

CORPSE is someone that was huge on social media this year. He blew up thanks to his song "E-GIRLS ARE RUINING MY LIFE!". However, this is not my favorite song by the artist. My favorite is actually "Miss YOU!", which is only a little over a minute and thirty seconds long. While the track is very short, it still packs a punch and is very relatable with lines like "I don't wanna look like this, f*ck" and "I don't wanna feel like this, f*ck".




6. Bonfire by Childish Gambino

Childish Gambino is another artist that I've been loving during the pandemic, but especially his song "Bonfire". This is another track that makes me feel like a bad bitch, and god knows I need songs like this in my life right now. If you haven't listened to Gambino, this is a great place to start.




5. Therapy by All Time Low

"Therapy" is solely on this list because it perfectly describes how I've felt this year. Next song!


4. Playing in Traffic by Broadside

I have had a few songs saved by Broadside for a while now. Last year, their song "King of Nothing" made onto my top songs of the year list. This year, I found myself listening to their song "Playing in Traffic" on repeat. This is yet another song that hypes me up and makes me want to scream the lyrics. I especially like the beginning of the song when "you keep playing in traffic and you'll end up dead" is sung, followed by "oh's" and guitars.




3. Daddy Issues by The Neighbourhood

I told myself I wouldn't put any artists on this list twice, but I guess I'll make an exception for The Neighbourhood. While "#icanteven" is a really good song, "Daddy Issues" is my favorite by them. This is a very relatable song, and is about the lead singers own issues with his father. Not only that, but it's a whole ass bop. This is another track I would love to eventually hear live. Hopefully after the pandemic is over, that is something I can do.




2. She by Harry Styles

This wouldn't be an end of the year list without a Harry Styles song. "She" is from Styles' most recent album,"Fine Line". That record was absolutely amazing, and "She" is my favorite track. It's such a sexy song, and the guitar solo at the end of the song really ties it together. (P.S.: Harry wrote this song while on shrooms so that makes it even better)



1. Juice by Tiny Meat Gang

Anyone that knows me shouldn't be surprised by this one. "Juice" was my top played song of 2020, according to my Spotify Wrapped. Ever since I started listening to TMG's music early last year, I've been hooked. "Juice" is extremely underrated, however. The beat, the vocals, the bars, everything about this song is absolutely flawless in my mind. If you have yet to listen to TMG (are you okay?) listen to this song first. You won't be disappointed.








79 views0 comments
bottom of page