top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSammie Stewart

Waterparks come back with a hard-hitting sophmore album titled Entertainment




If you’re anything like me, you’ve been waiting for a new album from pop punk band Waterparks for a while now. On January 26, that’s exactly what we got. Entertainment is the sophomore album from Waterparks. But does it live up to the expectations that their first album, Double Dare, set?


There were four singles released for this album: “Blonde,” “Lucky People,” “Not Warriors,” and “TANTRUM.” Each song is very different. “Blonde” was the first single released, and it is a very fun one. This is definitely something I could see being played on the radio.

Next was “Lucky People,” and this is a ballad. This was probably my favorite single released, or at least that I listened to before the album was released. “Lucky People” is just such a sweet and cute song, and the music video is really enjoyable, as well.


The third single released was “Not Warriors,” and this was definitely my least favorite single on the album. Something about Awsten Knight’s voice in this song turns me off. As someone who has seen the band live, I can say he has an amazing voice and doesn’t need all of that auto tune.


Finally, there’s “TANTRUM.” This was the only single I didn’t listen to before the album came out. My first impression of this song is that it was very angry, but in the best way possible. Knight really lets lose here, and I absolutely love it. This song reminds a lot of another song Waterparks has on Double Dare, called “Little Violence.” Both songs have louder vocals and guitars, and that is something I hope Waterparks does more of in the future.


If I had to pick a favorite song, it would probably either be “Rare” or “TANTRUM.” I know I said earlier my favorite single was “Lucky People,” but that was before I listened to the album. “Rare” has a chorus I can see myself singing along to in the future, and the lyric “just know I think you’re rare” is absolutely adorable. The part when the song slows down and Knight is singing over backing vowels gives me chills. This song is absolutely phenomenal.


My least favorite song is definitely “We Need to Talk.” There is just way too much repetition here for me to get into this song. However, on the up side, this is the one song I wouldn’t be able to listen to in full. “We Need to Talk” is the only song on this whole album that I can’t stand.


While I don’t believe this album is as good as the debut album, I still think “Entertainment” is an amazing album. It had some good moments, and some not so great moments. (I’m looking at you, We Need to Talk.) I would give this album four out of five stars. I had very high hopes for this album, and I’m happy to say it didn’t let me down.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page